Avoiding milk Protein

Milk can be hidden in gum, toothpaste at your dentist and more. Thanks to
Chemurgy, that is the science of makeing industrial
products from crop and crop by products we can find milk in industrial products such as paint and fabrics

Toothpaste

Recaldent a brand name product in toothpaste, gum and some dental products contains
milk protein

At The Dentist

Prospec MI has the milk protein in it. Ypour dentist should also be aware of prescription strength Recaladent in it. Have your dentist mark your chart no Prospec MI or
recaladent.

In your toothpaste and gum

Dairy protein may be in chewing gum, sometimes under the name recaldent, look out for packages that say "whitening", these are likely to have milk. Similarly in tooth paste, mention of "whitening" is a clue the toothpaste might have milk protein. Contact the manufacturer or choose a different tooth paste.

Dairy free Gum

>
Glee GumON FAQ page "Glee Gum does not contain any of the eight major food allergens: milk, egg, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soybeans. However, all three flavors of Glee Gum contain glucose derived from corn."
St. Clairs Organic CandyOrganic Candy Free of wheat, gluten, nut, dairy, corn, soy, fish Gelatin casein and GMOs link
Starburst www.starburst.com (USA) Click Allergy Info. Letter from Starburst Canada.
WriggleyIngredient and Nutrition informaton
see letter from wriggley regarding milk protein. (Including info on Lifesavers)
*More allergy free candy

Sunscreens cosmetics and other lotions

Many sunscreens and other lotions have lactose or milk protein not listed in ingredient lists. 
See diary free skin care products and Gluten Free NON Food items

Waxed fruit and vegetables

Vegtable Wax Organic apples and other vegitables are "unwaxed".

Soya Cheese

Most Soya based cheese has milk protein in it even if labled "Dairy Free", this practise of false claims of dairy free, are not as wide spread, but containing caisein (a milk protein) is still usually in small print in ingredient lists.

Drugs

Many drugs over the counter and persription have Lactose and or milk Protein. The pharmasist can look in the physiction's Desk Referance and tell you if your perscription is safe, you still may want to call manufacturer if unsure. One more reason not to use street drugs, some have lactose in them.

Enriched Flour

Some enriched flour is enriched with milk protein. See List of Dairy Free Breads

Paint

Milk Protein and Lactose can be found in some household and craft paint mostly antique paint. Can be a problem for very sensative people who have a contact allergy or can react to smell of milk protein. Milk based paint is a interesting product for those with severe allergies to latex, some milk based paints also have milk proteins. The Real Milk Paint Co. Does not hide the milk in their paint, others do.

Organic Foods

Organic foods can also have hidden milk ingredience, but are less likely to. organic foods are just as likely to run on lines with milk

Pet Food

Pet food, such as bird, dog and cat food, can contain milk protein. Consider your risk level,especially if you have a very sensative child who might haddle, or eat pet food.

Latex Gloves

Some disposable gloves have milk protein in them. If your very sensative, and have contact reactions this powder in side some gloves may be a problem.

Caramel

Caramel, Caramel colouring and Caramel extract can be made with milk protein. Caramel colouring can be used in some vegetarian dishes to give product the colour of meat. Caramel colouring can be found in soya sauce, dark colas, artificial maple syrup, and even some packaged meats. However not all caramel has milk in it.

May Contain

The term "may contain" is voluntary and can mean anything from packaging or cooking allergen and non-allergen containing foods with the same equipment with unknown levels of cleanning between batches. Or different sections of the factory may be producing allergen and non-allergen containing foods. "May Contain" can simply mean that employees are allowed to consume allergen containing foods in their lunch room. You cancall the manufacture for details, then assess your risk level. Some people claim "may contain" is sometimes an excuse for poor cleaning between food batches. Some products with a "may contain" have harmed people with severe allergies. Rare is the label that says "made in milk-free facility", I have faith that labeling will become more informative.

May contain and the law

In 1997 the federal government agreed to a "precautionary labeling policy." They allowed manufacturers to place the "may contain traces of ...." on their products. This "precautionary labeling policy" is not government legislated or mandatory and does not replace good manufacturing practices. Manufacturers use the label to protect the manufacturers, and not the people with the allergies. Some companies over use the statement or use it to avoid cleanning lines or dedicating lines to be allergy free.

HOME

Useful books

Non Dairy
Milk Alternatives



HOME

Dairy free
chocolate


Dairy free bread

About
this site


History of
allergies


Manufacture's
contact info


Allergy policies of
food manufactures

Carrying
containers
for
Auto injectors


Allergy
stories


Shopping
on-line


HOME


Celiac

posters and
Allergy
T-Shirts


Peanut / nut
Allergy


Allergy
Information
Links


Eating out

Nut allergies

Allergy
Support Groups


Soy and
rice "milks"


On line celiac
shopping


Allergy
postings


United Kingdom
links


More pages by
Avoiding Milk
Protein





TransFats

Sometimes when companies spin oils they add milk protein to separate the oils. Companiesdo not have to declare this protein as an ingredient, since the milk protein is used as a processing agent.

Food Colourings

Some food colourings are made with milk proteins, most often brown, but many other colours as well.

Chocolate

Finding Chocolate without milk is very difficult. Be wary of English chocolate, they are allowed to add milk chocolate into 100% chocolate. Lines of milk chocolate and non milk chocolate are often combined. Not all Dark chocolate is milk free. One can by chocolate on-line made in dairy free factories for the allergic, see Dairy Free Chocolate. There are now many chocolate bars made in nut free factories, made in Canada in market that contain milk.

Vegan foods

Processed Vegan foods can have trace amounts of milk protein from cross contamination. If the factory also makes non Vegan foods. Some Vegan foods have small amounts of milk added,usually milk that has been processed and broken down! This is rare but it does and
can happen.

    top of this page